Medical staff honoured for their contributions

A woman and a man stand beside each other. Each is holding a small glass trophy.
Consultant of the Year Professor Merrilee Needham and Registrar of the Year Dr David Kelly
December 5, 2019

Once again the exceptional talent of our medical staff has been recognised at the Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospitals Group (FSFHG) Medical Staff Awards 2019.

The awards recognise those consultants, registrars, residents and interns who have made significant contributions, beyond what is expected of their roles, within FSFHG.

This year almost 100 nominations were received across the categories, with the following awards presented.

Consultant of the Year – Professor Merrilee Needham, Consultant Neurologist, Fiona Stanley Hospital (FSH)
Merilee is an exceptional mentor to medical students and a great patient advocate. An excellent leader, she is committed to improving the culture at FSH and improving patient services and outcomes through teaching, education and administrative duties. Merilee  treats each patient as whole – mentally, physically, financially and socially – and includes the needs of the family in the patient’s care.

Registrar of the Year – Dr David Kelly, trainee in the Orthopaedics department, FSH
Instrumental in the design and implementation of the innovative orthopaedic osteoporosis fracture management clinics, David demonstrates a keen awareness of patient needs and interacts well with them and their families. He is supportive of junior doctor wellbeing and is an opportunistic teacher, even when very busy.

Resident of the Year – Dr William Crohan
Nominated for his term rotations in Leave Relief and Cardiothoracic Surgery, William has gone above and beyond to meet with Medical Workforce about issues raised by the junior medical office cohort. He also assisted in implementing positive change and advocating for junior doctors’ wellbeing through rosters/allocations.

Joint runners up, Resident of the Year – Dr Kristen Capper and Dr Tihana Milic
Kristen received nominations for his term rotations in Emergency Medicine, General Medicine and the Acute Medical Unit. He was acknowledged for taking the time to help interns and other residents and for checking in on the wellbeing of registrars.

Tihana’s professionalism, clinical assessment and management skills and excellence work commitment saw her nominated for her term rotations in Leave Relief, ICU, Emergency Medicine and ENT.

Intern of the Year – Dr Madison Pierre
Madison’s care for her patients and organisational and communication skills, enthusiasm and team player saw her nominated for her term rotations in Orthopaedics, General and Acute Medicine, Cardiothoracic Surgery and General Surgery.

Runner up, Intern of the Year – Dr Albert van Wyk
Nominated for his term rotations in Emergency Medicine, General Surgery and General and Acute Medicine, Albert is committed to the welfare of others. As welfare representative for the Stanley Medical Officers Society, Albert was instrumental in developing a calendar of events that was well received by his peers.

Follow South Metropolitan Health Service on Facebook (external site) and keep up to date with all the latest Fremantle Hospital.